CBT, A1 / A2 and Direct Access Courses - Motopass Motorcycle Training

CBT (Compulsory Basic Training) 

CBT is the starting point for all learner motorcyclists and everybody (except full UK car licence holders who gained their licence before February 2001 wanting to ride a 50cc moped) has to undertake CBT.

CBT courses are conducted at Dunsville Primary School, near Hatfield DN7 4HX

If you have never ridden a motorcycle before, this course will take you right from the start. You do, however, need to be able to ride a bicycle and have a good knowledge of the Highway Code.

CBT is not a test and there is no exam – it is a course of training you are required to complete satisfactorily. The CBT course syllabus includes five elements and these five elements have to be completed in turn. You can only move on to the next element when your instructor is satisfied you have learnt the necessary theory and demonstrated the practical skills to a safe basic level.

When attending for your course, you will need to dress appropriately, bring your UK licence with you (the photocard if it is the photocard licence) and glasses or contact lenses if normally worn.

We can supply you with a motorbike for the day and we have either automatics or manuals available.
We can also supply free use of motorcycle helmets, clothing and insurance.

CBTs are conducted at Dunsville Primary School. DN7 4HX

To discuss your specific requirements just give us a call on 01724 710206 or 07899 835423.

A1/A2 (restricted) Licence Courses 

Category A1 Licence

For people that are a minimum of 17 years of age. You take your test on a 125cc motorcycle with a power not exceeding 14.6bhp. You will then be able to remove learner plates and carry a passenger, but not able to ride above a 125cc.

Category A2 Licence

For people that are a minimum of 19 years of age. You take your test on a motorcycle above 245cc, with a power not exceeding 46.6bhp (20 to 35kW), but you will be restricted to that category of motorcycle for 2 years. If you then wish to ride a bigger motorcycle, you will be required to retake your test for a Category A Licence (see below)

You can take your test on either a manual or an automatic motorbike. If you take your test on a manual motorcycle, you can ride either manual motorcycles or automatics, but if you take your test on an automatic, you will be limited to automatics.

To discuss your specific requirements just give us a call on 01724 710206 or 07899 835423.

Category A Licence (Direct Access) 

The Direct Access Scheme (DAS) allows riders aged 24 or over (or after the 2 year period mentioned above if upgrading from an A2 Licence) to take a test on a large motorcycle, allowing them upon passing the test to ride any motorcycle without restrictions.

You must complete the CBT (which you can do with us as part of an intensive course), a motorcycle theory test and take a practical test on a motorcycle above 595cc with an engine power of at least 53.6bhp. We offer a range of courses which can be tailored to suit your experience and requirements.

Our training courses are flexible in approach and we run training courses seven days a week.

Direct Access Courses are conducted in Scunthorpe around the motorcycle test centre.

To discuss your specific requirements just give us a call on 01724 710206 or 07899 835423.

Motorcycle Theory Test

Before you can sit a motorcycle practical test, you have to pass a motorcycle theory test. This became compulsory for everyone in February 2001, regardless of whether you have a full car licence or not. (The only exceptions to this rule are holders of bike licences who want to upgrade within the same category.) 

The motorcycle theory test is split into two parts and is held at a DVSA theory test centre. You will be asked fifty multiple choice questions on the first part, followed by the hazard perception test. You will need to pass both parts of the test at the same sitting to pass your theory test. You will receive your results soon after you have finished both parts of the test.

Part I. Multiple Choice Element

The multiple choice part consists of fifty multiple choice questions conducted by touch-screen computer. To pass, you must answer forty-three or more questions correctly in fifty–seven minutes.

Part II. The Hazard Perception Test

The hazard perception test consists of fourteen short video clips, each lasting about a minute. The clips feature various types of hazards presented from a road users perspective. As soon as you see a hazard developing that may result in the road user having to take some action, i.e. braking, taking evasive action etc. you need to click on your mouse. The earlier the developing hazard is spotted and a response made, the more you score. You need to get a minimum of forty-four marks out of seventy-five to get through this part of the test

DSA logo